The science

Your skin keeps things out. That is the whole problem.

A technical record of the device and the three ampoules: what is specified, how each figure is stated, and what re:tones has not measured. Read the conventions first, then the mechanism, then the ledger.

Specifications · formulations · provenance

Units and conventions

Concentration
Stated in ppm and as percent by weight. 10,000 ppm = 1%. Figures are quoted at the value the supplier states, not rounded for effect.
Length
Needle diameter in micrometers (µm). Penetration depth in millimeters (mm). 1 mm = 1,000 µm, so a 1.0 mm setting is 125 times the needle's own diameter.
Depth
The collar is continuous. Marked positions are labels on a range, not the only settable values.
Intensity
A separate axis from depth. It sets stroke rate, not how far the needle travels.
What a concentration is
The amount present in the sealed vial. It is not a statement about how much crosses the barrier, and nothing on this page converts one into the other.
01

The barrier, and why it wins

The outer layer of your skin is a barrier. Its job is to keep things out. It is the reason you can swim without absorbing the pool.

Which means it does not care what your serum cost. An expensive active and a cheap one meet the same closed door.

So most of what you pat on stays on top. It dries. It wipes off. It ends up on your pillow.

A filter, not a door.

This is not a flaw in one product. It is the condition every bottle on your shelf works under. Most of them never mention it.

02

Why the barrier is built this way

The stratum corneum is not a defect to be defeated. It is the reason a human body holds roughly sixty percent water while sitting in dry air, and the reason a swimmer does not absorb a pool. Dead corneocytes are packed flat in a continuous lipid matrix, and that arrangement is tuned for one job: letting almost nothing through in either direction.

Everything difficult about topical skincare follows from that. A molecule does not fail to cross because the formula was cheap. It fails because the tissue is doing exactly what kept the organism alive. Any honest account of a serum has to start by admitting the barrier is winning by design, and that a better formula competes for the same three doors as a worse one.

The barrier is not failing. It is working.

Where things actually stop

FULL DEPTH, TO SCALE 0.5 - 1.5 mm 0 0.5 1.0 1.5 2.0 MILLIMETERS THE FIRST 100 µm, MAGNIFIED STRATUM CORNEUM 15 - 20 µm · the barrier proper VIABLE EPIDERMIS to about 100 µm MOST TOPICALS STOP HERE
  1. The barrier Outer layer Dead, flat cells packed tight. Most of what you apply stops right here.
  2. Under it Living epidermis Live cells. The dead layer above them is the obstacle.
  3. Deeper Dermis Collagen and elastin sit at this level.
  4. Deepest Fat layer Out of scope for any cosmetic device.

No measurements here. Skin varies by person and by area, so these are positions, not figures.

Depth, drawn true to scale

Published thickness for facial skin on one true linear scale, with the 0.5 to 1.5 mm dial travel drawn against it at that same scale. Every anatomical figure is a group mean from a named study and describes nobody's skin in particular.

FULL DEPTH, ONE TRUE LINEAR SCALE MILLIMETERS FROM THE SKIN SURFACE 0 0.5 1.0 1.5 2.0 BELOW THE DERMIS Column cut at 2.0 mm Ultrasound reads it to 0.20 mm 0.5 - 1.5 mm DIAL TRAVEL 0.75 1.39 FULL THICKNESS GROUP MEANSEPIDERMIS Stratum corneum 12.1 - 14.2 µm Viable epidermis 44.7 - 54.6 µm About 0.06 mm in total. Drawn to scale it is the hairline on top. DERMIS Collagen and elastin sit here. Its floor is the band at left. WHERE THE DERMIS ENDS 0.75 mm at the eyelid, 1.39 mm at the forehead, of eight sites. Group means. Site, sex and age all move it, so it is a band. DIAL TRAVEL, 0.5-1.5 mm re:tones device specification. The collar is continuous, so the marked positions label a range. At 1.5 mm the setting is past the published mean full thickness at all eight of those sites. A set depth is not one reached. Skin dents under the tip: in one published test, 350 µm needles pressed by thumb did not enter. THE FIRST 100 µm, MAGNIFIED ABOUT 36× SAME SURFACE AS ABOVE12.1 - 14.2 56.8 - 68.8 DERMIS FROM HERE 0 20 40 60 80 100 MICROMETERS Stratum corneum Viable epidermis Dermis 0.5 mm, the shallowest setting, is 500 µm: five times the full width of this panel.
Reference figures. Stratum corneum and viable epidermis thickness are published means for temple, cheekbone and mandible from in vivo line-field confocal optical coherence tomography in 100 healthy women aged 20 to 70 (Scientific Reports, 2023, doi 10.1038/s41598-023-40340-0); the ranges shown are the lowest and highest age-group means across those three sites. Full skin thickness is epidermis plus dermis measured by 24 MHz ultrasound at eight facial sites in 118 healthy adults (BMC Medical Imaging, 2022): 0.75 mm is the eyelid mean in women and 1.39 mm the forehead mean in men. That 350 µm microneedles pressed by thumb failed to enter skin is from Gupta et al., Journal of Controlled Release, 2011. None of these are re:tones measurements and none of them describe your skin. Facial thickness varies by site, by sex, by age and by person, which is why every boundary here is a band rather than a line. The two methods also disagree with each other, and both readings are printed rather than one being chosen quietly. Only the 0.5 to 1.5 mm travel is a re:tones specification. How deep the tip actually reaches in use has not been measured by re:tones and is not stated here.
03

Three ways in, and why two of them fail

There are only three ways across that outer layer. Every serum ever made is competing for them.

One winds between the cells, through a matrix of fat. It is long, and it is fussy about what it lets through.

One goes straight through the cells. That means crossing water, then fat, then water again. Very few molecules manage all of it.

One uses hair follicles and sweat ducts. That route is fast, and it is almost nowhere.

Reformulating changes how well a molecule handles those three. It never adds a fourth.

A better formula competes for the same three doors.

The four ways across

Three routes exist through an intact barrier. Each is hard for a different geometric reason. The fourth is the one a needle opens.

ROUTES ACROSS THE STRATUM CORNEUM SCHEMATIC · NOT TO SCALE SKIN SURFACE FOLLICLE A B C D 8 µm STRATUM CORNEUM 15-20 µm VIABLE EPIDERMIS living tissue CORNEOCYTE (PROTEIN) LIPID MATRIX (MORTAR) A INTERCELLULAR Long and winding, through the lipid matrix between cells. B TRANSCELLULAR Crosses in and out of lipid and water-loving environments. C APPENDAGEAL Follicle openings cover very little of the surface area. D MICROCHANNEL The needle opens a corridor that passes the whole layer.
Schematic, not to scale. The stratum corneum drawn as the brick-and-mortar model: flattened corneocytes are the bricks, the continuous lipid matrix is the mortar. A, B and C are the routes a topically applied molecule can take across it; D is the corridor the needle opens. A mechanism diagram, not data. Nothing here is measured, and no rate or degree of absorption is shown or implied.
04

What a nano-needle actually does

Absorption does not push product in. It opens temporary channels through that outer layer. The formula then travels a road that is briefly open, instead of arguing with a closed one.

The needle is 8 µm. Depth is a separate control, from 0.5 to 1.5 mm, and the collar has no clicks or stops. Which means you set it where you want it and nowhere else.

Intensity is a third control, with six settings. Depth is how far. Intensity is how hard. You never adjust both with one dial.

8 µm is finer than molding holds, so the array is not molded. It is made the way semiconductor parts are made, and the device page prints the process, the tip angles and the surface.

You set the depth. Nothing sets it for you.

The re:tones PRO-5D Nano array under an electron microscope. Our own array, not a stock image.
The re:tones PRO-5D Nano array under an electron microscope. Our own array, not a stock image.

Micrograph conditions

Instrument
Scanning electron microscope
Accelerating voltage
5 kV
Vacuum mode
High vacuum
Probe current
Standard
Scale
The plate the manufacturer supplied carries the instrument's own 10 µm bar. Measured against that bar, that plate's frame is about 58 µm across. The view printed here is a closer one of the same array and carries no bar of its own
Magnification
Not published. The figure printed on the supplied plate does not agree with that plate's own scale bar, so we did not carry it over. A magnification is only true at one reproduction size, and this frame is resized by your browser. A scale bar stays true at any size, which is why the scale above is given as a field width
Specimen
PRO-5D Nano array as supplied. No conductive coating was applied for imaging, and the image has not been retouched beyond cropping and resizing for the web
Provenance
Plate supplied by the manufacturer, and the copy we hold is a low-resolution crop, which is why the field width above is given as an approximation. re:tones did not operate the instrument.

Where the Tap Pen sits among absorption devices

Absorption is a category, not one technique. These four behave nothing alike. The category gets judged as if they were the same thing.

TypeHow it worksNeedleSetting
DermarollerA drum rolls across skin and enters at an angleAngled entryHome and clinic
Clinical penMotorized vertical stamping at settingVertical entryClinic only
Dissolving patchThe needle dissolves in skin and carries its payloadNo deviceHome
re:tones Skin Rejuvenation Tap Pen DeviceVertical stamping, ampoule released on contact8 µm, 0.5 to 1.5 mmHome

The Tap Pen is a cosmetic device, not a medical one, and not a substitute for a clinical procedure. Depth and needle diameter are separate specs. The collar sets how far the array travels. The 8 µm figure is the PRO-5D Nano needle itself. The PRO-R Nano needle is 15 µm.

05

What this is not

Precision about category matters more than enthusiasm. The Tap Pen is a cosmetic device. It is not a prescription treatment, and it is not a clinical procedure performed by a practitioner.

It is also not an injection. An injection deposits a measured volume into tissue at a known depth. This opens temporary channels through the outer layer and lets an ampoule meet them. Those are different mechanisms with different consequences, and conflating them would be the easiest way to overstate what the device does.

Nor is it a dermaroller. A roller enters at an angle as the drum turns, so entry and exit are not vertical, and the needle is typically an order of magnitude wider. The comparison table above puts the published figures side by side rather than describing the difference in adjectives.

Cosmetic device. Not medical, not clinical, not an injection.

Measured

Needle diameter, to scale

Every figure below is the thinnest one each category publishes for itself. Drawn on a linear axis, so the distance is the real distance.

  • Dermaroller 200µm
  • Clinical pen 250µm
  • Dissolving patch 100µm
  • Average pore 100µm
  • re:tones Skin Rejuvenation Tap Pen Device 8µm

Thinnest published figure per type, taken from the comparison table above. Pore diameter varies by person and by area; 100 µm is a commonly cited average and is shown for scale, not as a measurement of your skin.

Every length on one axis

A needle 8 µm across travels up to 1,500 µm. Those two figures cannot share a linear axis, so this one is logarithmic.

WHAT IS MEASURED µm re:tones needle 8 finest needle published elsewhere 10 stratum corneum 15-20 human hair 70 pore diameter viable epidermis ends about here 100 dermaroller needle 200 clinical pen needle 250 re:tones Skin Rejuvenation Tap Pen Device depth range 500-1500 8 10 100 1000 2000 MICROMETERS, LOG SCALE≈190× the needle’s own diameter
Logarithmic scale, 8 to 2000 µm, so a needle and the distance it travels fit on one axis. The needle is the smallest length shown and its deepest setting is the largest: 1500 µm ÷ 8 µm ≈ 190×. † Stratum corneum thickness, hair diameter, pore diameter and the depth of the viable epidermis are general reference figures from the dermatology literature, not re:tones measurements. The 10, 200 and 250 µm needle diameters are the figures other makers publish. Needle diameter and depth range are re:tones device specifications. This figure compares lengths only.

Cross-sections at one scale

The same comparison drawn as real circles instead of positions on a line, so the difference is seen rather than asserted. Two of the four figures are device specifications and two are published reference values.

CROSS-SECTIONS, ONE SHARED SCALE DETAIL A · ×20 300 µm 180 µm 70 µm A 100 µm 30 G needle · 0.30 mm Human hair, coarse · 180 µm Human hair, typical · 70 µm re:tones needles · 8 and 15 µm 17 µm 15 µm 8 µm 10 µm Human hair, finest published · 17 µm PRO-R Nano · 15 µm PRO-5D Nano · 8 µm Even the finest hair in that range exceeds 15 µm. Cross-sectional area goes as the square of diameter, so measured against the 8 µm needle: 30 G ≈ 1,400× typical hair ≈ 77× PRO-R Nano 15 µm ≈ 3.5×
Everything here is drawn at its stated diameter on one scale, so the comparison is seen rather than asserted. The 8 µm and 15 µm gauges are re:tones device specifications. The 30 G figure is the ISO 9626:2016 metric size for 30 gauge tubing, 0.30 mm nominal, with a permitted outer diameter of 0.298 to 0.320 mm; 30 G is a common cosmetic injection gauge and is shown for scale only, not as something this device replaces. The hair diameters are reference figures from the dermatology literature and match the ones already listed in the reference table on this page: about 70 µm is the commonly cited average, and roughly 17 to 180 µm is the full human range, which varies with ancestry. They are not measurements of anyone's hair and re:tones measured none of them. The area multiples are arithmetic from the diameters shown and nothing more: a wider needle displaces more tissue per insertion, but this figure makes no claim about what any of that feels like or does, which would need testing re:tones has not run.
06

What happens after the channel opens

The opening is temporary. Skin begins closing it immediately, and the sequence is the ordinary wound response operating at a very small scale: the channel narrows, the surface re-seals, and the outer layer returns to doing its job.

re:tones has not measured how long that takes for this device, and no figure for it appears anywhere on this site. Published values for microchannel closure vary widely with needle diameter, depth, skin site and measurement method, which is exactly why quoting one as though it applied here would be misleading. What can be said without a measurement is the shape of the thing: the window is short, it is why the ampoule is dispensed on contact rather than applied afterwards, and it is why the cadence is once a week rather than daily.

The window is short. That is why the ampoule arrives during it, not after.

How long the barrier stays open

There is a published human answer to this, and it is worth printing even though it was measured on needles many times wider than these. One study, its own figures, and a plain statement of why they are not a specification for this device.

HOW LONG THE BARRIER STAYS OPEN PUBLISHED STUDY · NOT THIS DEVICE WITHOUT OCCLUSION All five geometries and a 26 G hypodermic needle within 2 h, whatever the geometryUNDER OCCLUSION Dressing left on for 42 h 10 needles · 750 µm long 200 × 75 µm cross-section 3 h 10 needles · 1500 µm long 200 × 75 µm 18 h 50 needles · 500 µm long 200 × 75 µm 22 h 50 needles · 750 µm long 200 × 75 µm 30 h 50 needles · 750 µm long 500 × 125 µm, widest tested 40 h 0 12 24 36 48 HOURS AFTER TREATMENT The number of needles moved the figure more than length: ten at 1500 µm resealed sooner than fifty at 750 µm. WHAT THIS FIGURE IS NOT Those needles are 200 to 500 µm wide, 25 to 62 times the 8 µm gauge, and were pressed in by thumb, not driven. re:tones has measured nothing here, does not instruct occlusion, and states no closure time for its own channels.
Every figure on this plate is from Gupta, Gill, Andrews and Prausnitz, "Kinetics of skin resealing after insertion of microneedles in human subjects", Journal of Controlled Release 154(2), 2011: ten healthy adults, stainless steel microneedle arrays applied to the volar forearm, barrier recovery followed for 48 hours by electrical impedance. Without a dressing the skin resealed within 2 hours for every geometry tested, and geometry made no difference. Under a dressing it took 3 to 40 hours, and geometry made a large difference. This is the closest published evidence to the question, and it is still not an answer about this device: the needles were 200 to 500 µm wide against 8 µm here, they were pressed in by thumb rather than driven, and impedance recovery is a measure of the barrier, not a photograph of a channel. re:tones has run no such test, publishes no closure time, and does not tell you to cover the area afterwards. Treat this as the literature's answer to a related question, not as a specification.
07

Coupled, not sequential

Most absorption routines are two actions. You needle. Then you apply. The gap between them is different every single time, and the channel starts closing the moment it opens.

The Tap Pen releases its paired ampoule at the moment the needle meets skin. The device and the ampoule are physically coupled. Timing stops being something you have to get right.

The formula and the road arrive together.

The depth system

  1. 0.5mm The shallow end. Where to start.
  2. 0.75mm Still shallow.
  3. 1.0mm The middle of the range.
  4. 1.25mm Past the middle.
  5. 1.5mm The deep end. As far as the collar goes.

The collar is continuous, not clicked. You set anywhere between 0.5 and 1.5 mm. The marks are positions on that range, not stops. Intensity is a separate control with six settings. Start shallow and work up.

The depth range against skin, with the ampoules keyed to it

Linear, so the distances are the real distances. At that scale the barrier is under five pixels wide, which is why the first 100 µm is redrawn underneath at fifteen times the size.

DEPTH, LINEAR SCALE · 0 TO 1500 µm 1.5 mm = 1,500 µm stratum corneum, 15-20 µm † viable epidermis ends about here, 100 µm † DERMIS 0 0.5 0.75 1.0 1.25 1.5 mm collar range, 0.5 to 1.5 mm01 Pore Tightening 0.5 mm 02 TXA5 Brightening 0.75 to 1.0 mm 03 Wrinkle Peptide 1.0 to 1.5 mm Pairings confirmed by the manufacturer against the dial. Depth is where the collar is set, not a tissue measurement. DETAIL · THE FIRST 100 µm · ×15 The same page, fifteen times the scale needle diameter, 8 µm, drawn to this scale VIABLE EPIDERMIS STRATUM CORNEUM 15-20 µm † 0 20 40 60 80 100 µm The shallowest collar setting, 0.5 mm, is five times the full width of this detail panel. † Stratum corneum thickness and the depth of the viable epidermis are general literature reference figures for facial skin, not re:tones measurements. Dermis is drawn as a position only.
A linear depth axis, so the distances on it are the real distances. Skin runs along the top of the scale and the three ampoules are keyed underneath it: 01 Pore Tightening at 0.5 mm, 02 TXA5 Brightening from 0.75 to 1.0 mm, 03 Wrinkle Peptide from 1.0 to 1.5 mm, each confirmed by the manufacturer against the dial. 01 is a point rather than a band because that is how it is specified. At this scale the stratum corneum is under five pixels wide, which is why the detail panel redraws the first 100 µm at fifteen times the size. Two things are legible only there. The 8 µm needle is narrower across than the barrier is thick at 15 to 20 µm. And the shallowest setting on the collar, 0.5 mm, is 25 to 33 times that barrier thickness, which is the arithmetic of dividing 500 µm by 20 and then by 15. Stratum corneum thickness and the depth of the viable epidermis are general literature reference figures for facial skin and are marked as such in the claims ledger; the dermis is drawn as a position with no thickness figure attached. Every depth here is a position the collar is set to. None of it is a measurement of what happens in anyone's skin.
08

Three controls, and none of them move each other

There are three things to set before a session, and they are set in three different places. Depth is the collar on the body, and turning it moves the needle out or back in. Flow is a ring on the cartridge, and it sets how much ampoule the tip releases. Intensity is the button on the body, six levels, with the level shown on the on-body display so it is never something you have to remember.

None of the three reads another. Turning intensity up does not move the collar, and it does not change what the cartridge releases. Moving the collar does not change the level on the display. Each control does one thing, and it keeps doing that one thing whatever the other two are set to.

Three settings. Three places. No shared axis.

Fusing controls is the cheaper arrangement and the easier one to sell, because one dial that moves everything needs only one label. The cost is that every change becomes a trade. You ask for more of one thing and you accept more of another, whether or not the second one was what you wanted.

There is also an arrangement in which flow does not exist as a control at all. If the device does not carry the formula, the amount on the skin is whatever was applied beforehand, so there is nothing on the device to set. Putting the ampoule inside the cartridge is what turns that into a position on a ring.

The three axes, and where each one is set

Depth
The collar on the body. 0.5 to 1.5 mm, continuous. No clicks, no stops, and it stays at the position you leave it at.
Flow
A ring on the cartridge. Three detented positions. It sets how much ampoule the tip releases, and it sits on the part that holds the formula.
Intensity
The button on the body. Six levels, stepped one at a time, shown on the on-body display. It changes the rate, not the distance.
How the three interact
They do not. No control is derived from another, so changing one leaves the other two where they were.
Where the formula sits
Inside the cartridge before the session starts, not on the skin waiting for a way in.

Three controls that do not talk to each other

Depth, flow and intensity are three separate physical parts with three different characters. The last panel is the unusual bit: each one changes its own output and neither of the other two.

THREE CONTROLS · THREE AXES Turning one does not move the other two CONTROL 1 · DEPTH · COLLAR ON THE BODY 0.5 to 1.5 mm Continuous. No clicks and no stops. rests anywhere on the range 0.5 0.75 1.0 1.25 1.5 mm The marked values are labels on a range, not the only settable positions. CONTROL 2 · FLOW · RING ON THE CARTRIDGE 3 positions Detented. It clicks, and you can feel each position land. 1 2 3 Three positions and nothing between them. The amount delivered at each is not published, so none is drawn at any size. CONTROL 3 · INTENSITY · BUTTON ON THE BODY 6 levels Stepped by button. The level shows on the on-body display. PRESS 1 2 3 4 5 6 example setting, 4 of 6 Segments are drawn equal. The rate at each level is not published, so no step size is implied. WHAT EACH CONTROL CHANGES NEEDLE TRAVEL AMPOULE FLOW MOTOR LEVEL Turn the depth collar Turn the flow ring Press the intensity button changes it leaves it alone
Three controls, drawn on three separate scales because they are three separate physical parts: the depth collar on the body, the flow ring on the cartridge, and the intensity button with its on-body display. The shapes differ because the controls differ. Depth is one continuous line from 0.5 to 1.5 mm, and the marks on it are labels rather than stops. Flow is three detented positions with nothing settable between them. Intensity is six stepped levels. Three flow positions and six intensity levels give eighteen discrete combinations, and depth is continuous on top of that rather than adding a count to it. The matrix at the foot is the argument: every filled mark sits on the diagonal, so each control changes its own output and neither of the other two. Nothing here states how fast the motor runs at a given level, how much ampoule a given flow position delivers, or with what force the needle enters. None of those figures is published, so none of them is drawn.
09

A position, not a preset

The depth collar is continuous. It does not click, it does not stop at the marked values, and it stays where it is left. The numbers printed around it are labels on a range, not the only places the ring can sit.

A stepped dial makes a smaller promise. It offers a list, and any depth you want has to be rounded to the nearest item on it. Skin does not arrive in five sizes. It is thinner at the eye than on a cheek, it differs between two people of the same age, and it differs on one person between a first session and a tenth.

Continuous means the setting is the position you picked rather than the closest one a menu allowed, and it means the position is yours to keep. If 0.8 mm is where you work, the collar sits at 0.8 mm, because nothing pulls it to 0.75 or to 1.0.

A menu rounds you to its nearest answer.

The two controls you turn by hand behave in opposite ways, and that is deliberate. Flow clicks, because three positions can be counted by feel and you should be able to find the middle one without looking. Depth does not click, because a range cannot be counted. What you give up is the click. What you get back is every value between the marks.

10

The formula is loaded into the tip

The cartridge comes off the device, the ampoule goes into it, and it seats back on with a push. The formula is inside the tip before the first tap, and it is released at the moment the tip meets skin.

The ordinary arrangement is two actions in an order. You needle, then you apply, and the interval between them is a different length every time. Loading the tip removes the second action, and the interval with it.

It is also what makes flow a setting at all. Because the tip holds the formula, the amount that comes out is a position on a ring rather than a consequence of how much you poured into your hand.

The tip is the reservoir, not the skin.

None of that is a statement about how much of an ampoule crosses the barrier. Loading the tip changes when the formula arrives and how it is metered. What happens after it arrives has not been measured by re:tones, and the claims ledger at the foot of this page leaves that row open.

Device specification

Platform
re:tones 5D Nano-Needle Array / TDDS Platform
Needle diameter, PRO-5D Nano
8 µm
Needle diameter, PRO-R Nano
15 µm
Needle fabrication
MEMS. Photolithography and deep reactive ion etching, not molding. Stated by the manufacturer
Needle surface
Amorphous silicon nitride, about 120 nm, applied by vapor deposition. Stated by the manufacturer
Depth range
0.5 to 1.5 mm, continuously adjustable
Depth control
Collar dial, no clicks
Intensity
Six settings, separate from depth
Ampoule delivery
Released at the moment the needle meets skin
Cartridges included
Three: two PRO-5D Nano and one PRO-R Nano. PRO-5D Nano, square plate, 8 µm lattice. PRO-R Nano, round plate, 15 µm needle
Cartridge life
Sterile, single use. A fresh one each session
Cartridge nose
A 50 µm neck, 0.8 mm behind the tip, that every dose passes
Cadence
Once a week
Intensity indicator
On-body, shows the setting
Body
Brushed aluminum
Colors
Purple, Pink
Origin
Made in South Korea. Sold by Idenbrick LLC, United States
Classification
Cosmetic device
Still to be published
Needle count per array, battery capacity, charge time, weight, and the material under the needle surface
11

Two cartridge geometries

Both ship in the box. They are not interchangeable.

PRO-R Nano is a round plate on a heavier needle. It is the forgiving one, and the one to start on while you learn pressure and pace.

PRO-5D Nano is the square plate, set at 45 degrees, with the 8 µm lattice. It is the everyday one.

Geometry is not decoration. A round plate meets skin evenly from any angle. That matters while your technique is still uneven.

A square plate tiles cleanly across a flat area. That matters when you work across a cheek.

Both are sterile. Both are single use. A fresh one each session.

PRO-5D Nano. The square array and the finer needle, shot through the clear housing.
PRO-5D Nano. The square array and the finer needle, shot through the clear housing.

One cartridge, one session

Sterility is not a property a cartridge holds. It is a state it can only leave, so the track has no return leg.

ONE CARTRIDGE · ONE SESSION Sterile is a state you can only leave SEALED FITTED USED DISPOSED sterile, in its wrapper one per session one session, once a week not resealable, not reusable there is no path back to sterile WHAT SHIPS IN THE BOX PRO-5D Nano PRO-5D Nano PRO-R Nano Three cartridges in the box. Two PRO-5D Nano · 8 µm · square plate One PRO-R Nano · 15 µm · round plate All sterile. All single use. CADENCE · ONE SESSION A WEEK WEEK 1 WEEK 2 WEEK 3 WEEK 4 WEEK 5 the three cartridges in the box a fresh cartridge each session after that Arithmetic on the two figures above: three cartridges, one per session, once a week. How long a cartridge stays sterile in its unopened wrapper is not published, so no shelf life is drawn.
Sterility is not a quality a cartridge has. It is a state it can only leave, which is why the track has no return leg and the last state is drawn as a different shape. A cartridge goes sealed, fitted, used, disposed, and the dashed curve back to sealed is struck through because it does not exist. That is the whole argument for single use, and it is the same argument the crimp-sealed ampoule vial makes in a different format: opened once, by you, and not resealable afterwards. Three cartridges ship in the box, two PRO-5D Nano carrying the 8 µm needle and one PRO-R Nano carrying the 15 µm needle. At one cartridge per session and one session a week, those three cover the first three weeks. That is division of two published figures rather than a statement about how long the product lasts you. How long a cartridge stays sterile in its unopened wrapper has not been published by the manufacturer, so no shelf life, no expiry and no storage figure appears anywhere on this plate.

What the plate outline changes

Circles cannot cover a plane and squares can. That is the whole of what the outline of a cartridge plate decides, and it is a fact about shapes rather than a measurement of anything this device did to skin.

WHAT THE PLATE OUTLINE CHANGES PLAN VIEW · GEOMETRY ONLY ROUND FOOTPRINT PRO-R Nano plate One gap 90.7% covered Equal circles cannot cover a plane. The densest arrangement possible is this one: π ÷ √12 ≈ 90.7%. The 9.3% left over is the ground showing between them.SQUARE FOOTPRINT PRO-5D Nano plate 100% covered Squares tile the plane exactly. Placed edge to edge they leave no gap and need no overlap, so the covered fraction is 1.000 by construction. WHAT THIS DOES NOT SAY This is the geometry of the plate outline and nothing more. The device is moved by hand, not stepped on a lattice, so coverage in use is set by how it is moved. The needle count inside either plate, and its spacing, are not published, so no needles are drawn. Nothing here is a measurement of coverage, of overlap, or of anything done to skin.
A geometry plate, not a measurement. The 90.7% figure is the density of the densest possible packing of equal circles in the plane, π/√12 ≈ 0.9069, a classical result stated by Thue and proved by Fejes Tóth in 1940. It is a fact about circles, and it holds however small or large they are. Squares tile the plane exactly, so the matching figure for a square outline is 1.000 by construction. That is the whole of the argument for drawing the two plate shapes side by side, and it stops there: the device is moved across skin by hand rather than stepped along a lattice, so what any of this means for coverage in a real pass depends on how it is moved and has not been measured. The number of needles inside either cartridge, and the spacing between them, are not published by the manufacturer, so this plate draws no needles at all. Nothing here says one cartridge treats more skin than the other.

A session, start to finish

  1. Cleanse and dryStart on clean skin with nothing on it. No actives, no oils, no makeup.
  2. Fit a fresh cartridgeOne per session. They are sterile and single use, so a used one goes in the bin.
  3. Set the depthStart at 0.5 mm. Work up over sessions, not inside one.
  4. Load the ampouleThe device releases it on contact. There is no separate application step.
  5. Tap, do not dragShort vertical passes, one small area at a time. Dragging is what leaves marks.
  6. Stop at the schedule, not the feelingOnce a week. More is not faster.
  7. Leave it aloneNo actives, no acids, no retinoid, no makeup for the rest of the day.
  8. Sunscreen tomorrowAnd the days after. This one is not optional.
12

Formulated for an open channel

An ampoule built for an open channel is a different brief from one built to sit on a surface. Two things change.

First, the format has to stay closed. You are applying to a barrier you just opened on purpose. A pump does not. It draws air, and it holds residue in the nozzle. So the format is crimp-sealed medical glass, opened once, by you.

Second, the concentration has to be worth the trip. All three ampoules are 50 mL in the same vial. The figures below come from the manufacturer's own ingredient statement.

You cannot open skin and then open a pump.

The three ampoules

Pore Tightening
Niacinamide 210,000 ppm (21%). Also adenosine 400 ppm, rh-oligopeptide-1, sodium DNA.
TXA5 Brightening
Tranexamic acid 50,000 ppm. Also niacinamide 20,000 ppm, ascorbic acid, glutathione.
Wrinkle Peptide
Acetyl hexapeptide-8 500 ppm. Also adenosine 400 ppm, copper tripeptide-1 and palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, both at trace.
Format
50 mL crimp-sealed glass vial, aluminum crimp, rubber septum, clear flip-off cap
Origin
Developed and made in South Korea

What each ingredient is

Niacinamide
Vitamin B3, a small water-soluble molecule at 122.1 g/mol. One of the most widely used and most studied actives in cosmetic formulation, valued because it is stable, well tolerated at high concentration, and compatible with almost everything else in a formula. It carries the 01 ampoule at 21% and appears again at 2% in the 02 ampoule.
Tranexamic acid
A synthetic derivative of the amino acid lysine, 157.2 g/mol. Originally a pharmaceutical, now used topically in tone-focused cosmetic formulation. It leads the 02 ampoule at 5%.
Acetyl hexapeptide-8
A six-amino-acid peptide, 889.0 g/mol, acetylated at one end and amidated at the other. Used in expression-line formulation. It leads the 03 ampoule at 500 ppm, a level set by the ingredient class rather than by ambition.
Adenosine
A nucleoside, 267.2 g/mol, present in every living cell. It sits at 400 ppm in both the 01 and 03 ampoules.
rh-Oligopeptide-1
A bioidentical peptide produced by recombinant expression rather than extraction. Present in the 01 ampoule; the concentration is not published.
Sodium DNA
A salt of deoxyribonucleic acid, used in formulation as a hydrating and film-forming ingredient. Present in the 01 ampoule; the concentration is not published.
Ascorbic acid and glutathione
Both present in the 02 ampoule. Neither concentration is published, so neither is drawn at any size in the charts on this page.
Copper tripeptide-1 and palmitoyl pentapeptide-4
Present in the 03 ampoule at trace levels, 1e-6% and 1e-7%. At those levels they are label dressing. re:tones does not build a claim on either one and neither is drawn at any size.

Why these were chosen for an opened channel

Water solubility
Every lead active here is water-soluble. An ampoule meeting a freshly opened channel is meeting an aqueous environment, and an oil-phase active would be the wrong tool for it.
Molecular size
The four small molecules sit under the 500 dalton heuristic; the two peptides sit well above it. That spread is the reason the plate on this page exists. A formula that only contained small molecules would not need a channel as badly.
Stability in a sealed vial
Ascorbic acid in particular is famously unstable once exposed to air and light. A crimp-sealed vial opened once is a format that suits an ingredient like that, which is part of why the format was chosen and not simply how it looks.
Tolerance at concentration
Niacinamide at 21% is a high figure by any standard. It is possible because the molecule is well tolerated at concentration, not because higher is automatically better.
What this section is not
The above describes what these ingredients are and why this formulation reaches for them. It is not a statement about results, and nothing here says what any of them will do for your skin.

What each ampoule actually carries

The six actives span three decades. On a linear axis the two smallest would be invisible, which is the point: a concentration is a dose, not a rank.

400 ppm to 210,000 ppm, a 525-fold range 01 PORE TIGHTENING Niacinamide 210,000 ppm · 21% Adenosine 400 ppm · 0.04%02 TXA5 BRIGHTENING Tranexamic acid 50,000 ppm · 5% Niacinamide 20,000 ppm · 2%03 WRINKLE PEPTIDE Acetyl hexapeptide-8 500 ppm · 0.05% Adenosine 400 ppm · 0.04% 100 1,000 10,000 100,000 1,000,000 PARTS PER MILLION, LOG SCALE 10,000 ppm = 1% by weight
Each gridline is a tenfold step, so bar length tracks the logarithm of the concentration and not the concentration itself. The six figures sit in three different decades of the axis, and on a linear scale the two smallest bars would be invisible. That is the argument: a concentration is a dose, not a rank. Acetyl hexapeptide-8 is at 500 ppm because that is the level a peptide is used at, in the same way niacinamide is at 210,000 ppm because that is the level niacinamide is used at. A longer bar is a larger number, not a better ampoule. Every figure is the amount present in the sealed vial, as stated on the manufacturer's ingredient statement. It is not a statement about how much of it crosses the barrier, and nothing here converts one into the other.

Percent and ppm are two rulers for one quantity

Three linear rulers at ×1, ×100 and ×1,000. Four of the eight figures on this page fall inside 3.6 px of the percent one, which is the whole reason the cartons are printed in ppm.

ONE QUANTITY · TWO RULERS 1% = 10,000 ppm · 1 ppm = 0.0001% PERCENT BY WEIGHT · 0 TO 100% 3.6 px per percentage point 5% 21% 88% 0 25 50 75 100 % 5% tranexamic acid · 21% niacinamide · 88% water, the base of the 03 vial Four more figures on this page are inside this 3.6 px, so the next ruler down is that slice at ×100.×100 · THE FIRST 1% · 0 TO 10,000 ppm 0.036 px per ppm 4,000 0 2,000 4,000 6,000 8,000 10,000 ppm 4,000 ppm sodium hyaluronate, in the 03 vial Niacinamide at 20,000 ppm is off the right of this ruler, at twice its full width. 0 to 1,000 ppm, which the ruler below draws at ×1,000 of the first one.×1,000 · THE FIRST 0.1% · 0 TO 1,000 ppm 0.36 px per ppm 250 400 500 0 500 1,000 ppm 250 ppm gardenia extract · 400 ppm adenosine · 500 ppm acetyl hexapeptide-8 Sodium hyaluronate at 4,000 ppm is four times the full width of this ruler. EVERY FIGURE, BOTH WAYS ppm PERCENT ppm PERCENT Water · 03 880,000 88% Niacinamide · 01 210,000 21% Tranexamic acid · 02 50,000 5% Niacinamide · 02 20,000 2% Sodium hyaluronate · 03 4,000 0.4% Acetyl hexapeptide-8 · 03 500 0.05% Adenosine · 01 and 03 400 0.04% Gardenia extract · 03 250 0.025% Ascorbic acid and glutathione are present in the 02 ampoule at concentrations the manufacturer has not published, so neither appears on any ruler or in the table above.
Percent and ppm are not two levels of importance. They are two rulers of different resolution measuring the same thing, and 1% is 10,000 ppm by definition. All three rulers here are linear and all three are the same 360 px long, so what changes between them is only the magnification: ×1, then ×100, then ×1,000. On the percent ruler the only figure that sits comfortably is the water, at 88% of the 03 vial. Four of the eight figures on this page fall inside the first 1% of it, a slice 3.6 px wide, which is the entire reason the cartons are printed in ppm. Read the other way round, the same fact is unremarkable: acetyl hexapeptide-8 at 500 ppm is 0.05%, and a peptide is used at that level because that is the level a peptide is used at. Every figure is the amount present in a sealed 50 mL vial, taken from the manufacturer's ingredient statement. Ascorbic acid and glutathione are in the 02 ampoule at concentrations that have not been published, so neither is drawn. Nothing on this plate is converted into an amount that crosses the barrier, because that figure has not been measured.

Molecule size against the barrier

A rough size gate from the permeation literature, with every active in the range plotted against it.

UNDER 500 DALTONS OVER 500 DALTONS 1000 750 500 250 0 MOLECULAR WEIGHT (DALTONS) 122.1 157.2 267.2 402.9 802.1 889.0 500 DALTONS PASSIVE PERMEATION RULE OF THUMB Niacinamide Tranexamic acid Adenosine Copper tripeptide-1 Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 Acetyl hexapeptide-801 · 02 02 01 · 03 03 03 03 01 / 02 / 03 = the ampoule each active appears in. Copper tripeptide-1 is plotted as the copper complex.
Reference figure, citation outstanding. The 500 dalton mark is a rule of thumb from the skin permeation literature, not a re:tones measurement and not a hard physical law. Treat it as a rough size gate rather than a verdict: under 500 Da does not mean a molecule gets through intact skin, and over 500 Da does not mean it never does. What the plot does show is that these six actives are not one population. Four sit under the heuristic and two sit several times above it, and that split is the argument for opening a channel rather than assuming the barrier will let everything through. Values are published molecular weights on a linear axis. Copper tripeptide-1 is plotted as the copper complex, 402.9 Da; the GHK peptide on its own is 340.4 Da.

Where the reference figures come from

Hair diameter
Typical scalp hair is 50 to 100 µm, with about 70 µm commonly cited as the average. The full human range is roughly 17 to 180 µm, and it varies with ancestry. Used here for scale only.
Pore diameter
Contested, because two definitions are in use. Pore openings are often given as 40 to 100 µm; visible facial pores, which are shallow surface depressions rather than openings, are usually given as 250 to 500 µm. This site uses the narrower figure, which is the conservative one for any comparison against a needle.
Stratum corneum thickness
Commonly given as 15 to 20 µm on facial skin, varying by site and by person.
Status
All three are general literature values, not re:tones measurements. They are marked as reference figures in the claims ledger and are used to give a sense of scale, never as a basis for a claim about this product.
13

A figure, or nothing

There is a shorter, warmer version of this page that we chose not to write. It would say the device works on lines, that it wakes something up underneath, that skin rebuilds itself afterwards. Those are the easiest sentences in this category to write, and every one of them is absent here on purpose.

A claim does not only describe a product. It can change what the product legally is. Say that a device acts on the living biology under the surface and you have not written a bolder sentence about the same object, you have moved it into a different category with a different set of rules attached to it. The wording is enough to do that on its own. The hardware never has to change.

So the copy stays on the side we can account for, which is what the device does mechanically. A needle diameter stated in micrometers. Temporary channels through the outer layer. A collar you set by hand between 0.5 and 1.5 mm. An ampoule released at the moment of contact. Each of those is a fact about an object, traceable to a specification or to the thing in your hand.

What follows inside skin is not ours to narrate. We have not measured it, and we are not going to fill the gap with language while we wait. That is why there is no efficacy percentage on this site, no before and after, and no account of what your skin is doing in the weeks after a session. The grades and the ledger below list what is missing rather than hiding it.

The wording is enough on its own. The hardware never has to change.

What is printed instead is the rest of this document. Every figure on this site carries the thing it rests on and the grade that goes with it. 8 µm and 15 µm for the two cartridge geometries. 0.5 to 1.5 mm of collar travel, set by hand. 210,000 ppm of niacinamide printed next to the 21% it converts to, because those are two rulers for one quantity. None of it is decoration. Each figure is a claim, and each one is in the ledger below with its basis beside it.

It is much easier to write a phrase that sounds like a specification than to print one. Surgical grade stainless steel is the type of phrase we mean. It reads like an engineering term and it is not one. It names no alloy, no composition, no supplier and no lot, so nobody can check it and nobody can compare two products by it. From the phrase alone there is no way to know whether two things carrying it are made of the same metal. It is not on this site, and neither are its relatives. Where the alternative is language of that kind, we print the figure or we print nothing.

The rule costs us as much as it earns. The needle surface is now named, because the manufacturer has stated it in writing, and it carries the lower grade that a written statement earns. The rest of the cartridge is still not named by grade, and it will not be until the manufacturer states it in a form we can print and stand behind. Needle count per array, battery capacity, charge time and weight are absent for the same reason, listed as outstanding in the specification above and graded in the ledger below rather than estimated into existence. Nine measurements are specified in our brief to the manufacturer and not one of them has come back. Further down this page, What we have not measured yet prints the exact sentence each of those reports would let us write, with the blanks still showing.

Stated plainly, that is the standard this document is written to, and it is a standard we set for ourselves rather than a comment on anyone else. A figure appears here only with its source attached, and a sentence that needs a figure we do not have does not appear at all. It is a slower way to write a page, and it is the only version of this one we can defend line by line.

Evidence grades

Substantiated
Traceable to a manufacturing specification, a supplier ingredient statement, or the physical product in hand.
Manufacturer statement
Stated in writing by the engineering team that specifies and builds the device. Not a third party test, and not verified by re:tones. Used for how a part is made, and never for a result on skin.
Qualitative only
Stated in words because no figure has been measured. No number is implied.
Reference figure
A general value used for scale on a comparison, drawn from published literature rather than from re:tones testing. Marked wherever it appears.
Not published
The manufacturer has not supplied it. Listed here rather than estimated.
Not claimed
Deliberately absent. re:tones has run no consumer panel and no clinical study, so no efficacy percentage, no absorption multiple and no time-to-result appears anywhere on this site.

Claims ledger

Every figure re:tones uses, what it rests on, and its grade. Rows that are not yet substantiated stay on the list rather than being quietly dropped.

Claim What it rests on Status
8 µm needle diameter, PRO-5D Nano Manufacturing specification Substantiated
15 µm needle diameter, PRO-R Nano Manufacturing specification Substantiated
Depth 0.5 to 1.5 mm, continuous Device specification Substantiated
Six intensity settings Device specification Substantiated
Three cartridges in the box Physical product Substantiated
Sterile, single use cartridges Manufacturing specification Substantiated
Ampoule released on contact Device mechanism Substantiated
MEMS fabrication, not molding Manufacturer's engineering document Manufacturer statement
Silicon nitride needle surface, about 120 nm Manufacturer's engineering document Manufacturer statement
Tip ground in three facets, 15°, 25° and 45° Manufacturer's engineering document Manufacturer statement
50 µm cartridge neck, 0.8 mm behind the tip Manufacturer's engineering document Manufacturer statement
Micrograph field about 58 µm across Measured off the 10 µm scale bar on the plate the manufacturer supplied Measured by re:tones
Micrograph magnification Withdrawn. The figure printed on the plate was not consistent with its own scale bar, and a magnification is only true at one reproduction size Not published
Material under the needle surface Not stated in any document we hold Not published
Niacinamide 210,000 ppm (21%) Manufacturer ingredient statement Substantiated
Tranexamic acid 50,000 ppm Manufacturer ingredient statement Substantiated
Acetyl hexapeptide-8 500 ppm Manufacturer ingredient statement Substantiated
50 mL crimp-sealed vial Physical product Substantiated
The barrier stops most topicals Stated plainly, with no figure attached Qualitative only
Needle count, battery, weight Not yet supplied by the manufacturer Not published
Pore diameter, approx. 100 µm General literature value used for scale Reference figure, citation outstanding
Hair diameter, approx. 70 µm General literature value used for scale Reference figure, citation outstanding
Finest needle published elsewhere, 10 µm Competitor published specification Substantiated, as published by that manufacturer
Comfort, sensation or pain Varies by person, depth and area Qualitative only

What we have not measured yet

Nine measurements are specified in our test brief to the manufacturer. Not one of them has come back. Each row below prints the exact sentence that report would let us write, with its blanks still showing. Until a figure and a report number both exist, that sentence appears nowhere else on this site.

Outstanding What the report would let us say Status
Needle tip diameter [figure] tip diameter, measured by scanning electron microscope, n = [n] needles across three production lots. Not measured
Needle strength, axial Fracture load [figure] per needle in axial compression, n = [n] single needles. Not measured
Needle strength, shear Lateral load to first permanent deformation [figure] per needle, n = [n]. Internal design evidence that supports the durability statement. Not measured
Needle durability Less than [figure] change in tip diameter after 10⁵ strokes at maximum rated speed on porcine skin, n = [n] needles. Not measured
Needle retention Needle retention greater than [figure], measured as axial pull force from the cartridge head, n = [n] needles. Not measured
Depth accuracy on the bench Set depth accurate to [figure] at every detent on the collar, measured on the bench with no tissue present at 1,000 frames per second, n = [n] units. Not measured
Needle material Needles are [figure], stated on a material certificate for every production lot, n = [n] lots. Not measured
Biocompatibility Biocompatibility tested across [figure] endpoints, covering cytotoxicity, irritation and sensitisation, n = [n] samples. Not measured
Sterility Cartridges are sterile and single use to a sterility assurance level of [figure], and every cartridge is traceable to its sterilization lot, n = [n] units verified. Not measured

The same brief also asks for laboratory work that is not written for a storefront. Those reports stay in our engineering file, and no sentence on this site rests on them.

Terms used on this site

Outer layer
The top of your skin. Dead, flat cells packed tight. The barrier most topicals never cross.
Temporary channel
The opening the device makes through that layer. It closes on its own.
TDDS
Transdermal delivery system. The category of technologies for moving something across the skin barrier.
Micron (µm)
One thousandth of a millimeter. The unit the needle is measured in.
ppm
Parts per million. A finer unit than a percentage, used on the cartons because it makes small concentrations legible.
Nano-needle
Here, a needle measured in single-digit microns. Not a nanometer-scale structure.
MEMS
Micro electro mechanical systems. The fabrication class used for semiconductor parts, and for this needle array.
Crimp seal
An aluminum collar swaged over a rubber septum. Opened once, not resealable, which is the point.

Molecular weight against the 500 dalton rule

Ten published weights on a log dalton axis, and three named ingredients with no weight to plot at all. A size rule can only sort what has a size.

MOLECULAR WEIGHT AGAINST THE BARRIER RULE Ten weights, and three ingredients that do not have one. LOG DALTON SCALE published values, not measurements of our formula DALTONS 500 DALTONS PASSIVE PERMEATION RULE OF THUMB, PUBLISHED1,2-Hexanediol in 01, with caprylyl glycol at 5,900 ppm combined 118.2Niacinamide in 01 at 210,000 ppm, in 02 at 20,000 ppm 122.1Caprylyl glycol in 01, the other half of that combined figure 146.2Tranexamic acid in 02 at 50,000 ppm 157.2Ascorbic acid in 02 at 100 ppm 176.1Adenosine in 01 and in 03, at 400 ppm 267.2Copper tripeptide-1 in 03 at trace. Plotted as the copper complex 402.9Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 in 03 at trace 802.1Acetyl hexapeptide-8 in 03 at 500 ppm, the figure printed on the carton 889.0rh-Oligopeptide-1 in 01 at trace. Published weight of the recombinant oligopeptide, 53 amino acids 6,222 Sodium hyaluronate in 01 and in 03 at 4,000 ppm. A polymer: weight depends on the grade, not published not published Sodium DNA in 01 at trace. A polymer: weight depends on chain length, not published not published Gardenia extract Gardenia florida fruit extract, in 03 at 250 ppm. A mixture, not one molecule no single value 100 1,000 10,000 DALTONS, LOG SCALE One decade every 175 px. The datum lands on a minor tick. PUBLISHED, NOT MEASURED Every weight is a published value for the named ingredient. The 500 Da mark is a rule of thumb from the literature. WHAT THIS PLATE DOES NOT SAY Under 500 Da does not mean it crosses intact skin. Over it does not mean it never does.
Reference figure, citation outstanding. The 500 dalton mark is a rule of thumb from the skin permeation literature rather than a re:tones measurement or a hard physical law, so read it as a rough size gate: under it does not mean a molecule crosses intact skin, and over it does not mean it never does. The axis is logarithmic because the named ingredients span 118 Da to 6,222 Da, a 53-fold range that a linear axis has to truncate. Seven of the ten plotted weights sit under the rule and three sit above it, and the largest of those, rh-Oligopeptide-1, is not a small molecule at all: it is the INCI name for recombinant human epidermal growth factor, a protein of 53 amino acids, and 6,222 Da is that protein's published weight. The more useful part of the plate is the bottom third. Three named ingredients have no bar because they have no single molecular weight to draw. Sodium hyaluronate and sodium DNA are polymers whose weight is set by the grade or the chain length used, and neither is published for this formula. Gardenia florida fruit extract is a botanical extract, which is a mixture of many molecules rather than one, so the question does not apply to it at all. Each is drawn as a dashed rule across the whole axis rather than a short bar, because a short bar would be a guess. That is the honest limit of this figure: a size rule can only sort the ingredients whose size is known, and for a quarter of the named list it is silent.

What 50 mL actually holds

An 88% water base is 44 g. The four named actives together come to 257.5 mg, about a quarter of a gram, which at true scale is a 0.87 px line. The arithmetic is on the plate.

03 WRINKLE · WHAT 50 mL ACTUALLY HOLDS Fractions of mass, not layers. The vial holds one solution. % OF CONTENTS BY WEIGHT 100 75 50 25 0 50 mL crimp-sealed medical glass assumed to weigh about 50 g Everything else 5.7425 g · 11.485% not itemised as ppm figures The four actives, together 257.5 mg · 0.515% true band would be 0.87 px tall Water 44 g · 88% stated as an 88% water baseTHE ARITHMETIC, STEP BY STEP 1 · VOLUME TO MASS, ASSUMED 50 mL × 1 g/mL ≈ 50 g 2 · WATER BASE, STATED 88% × 50 g 44 g 3 · EACH ACTIVE: ppm ÷ 1,000,000 × 50 g Sodium hyaluronate, 4,000 ppm 200 mg Acetyl hexapeptide-8, 500 ppm 25 mg Adenosine, 400 ppm 20 mg Gardenia extract, 250 ppm 12.5 mg 4 · THE FOUR TOGETHER 200 + 25 + 20 + 12.5 mg 257.5 mg 5 · EVERYTHING ELSE IN THE FORMULA 50 g − 44 g − 0.2575 g 5.7425 g Every gram on this plate depends on step 1. THE 0.515% SLIVER, OPENED OUT Its own milligram scale, not the column's scale. 200 mg is 0.4% of the vial. Sodium hyaluronate · 4,000 ppm 200 mg Acetyl hexapeptide-8 · 500 ppm 25 mg Adenosine · 400 ppm 20 mg Gardenia extract · 250 ppm 12.5 mg 0 50 100 150 200 MILLIGRAMS IN ONE VIAL, LINEAR ASSUMED, NOT MEASURED Density is taken as about 1 g/mL, the standard figure for a water-based ampoule. No density has been published for this formula, so every gram and milligram here is an estimate. STATED, AND WHAT IT DOES NOT SAY The 88% water base and the four ppm figures are stated, both read as by weight. Mass sealed in glass says nothing about what reaches skin.
A concentration is a ratio and a ratio has no weight, so the plate converts the stated figures into what is actually sealed in the glass. On an assumed 50 g fill, an 88% water base is 44 g of water, and the four named actives convert the same way: 4,000 ppm of sodium hyaluronate is 200 mg, 500 ppm of acetyl hexapeptide-8 is 25 mg, 400 ppm of adenosine is 20 mg, and 250 ppm of gardenia extract is 12.5 mg. Added together the four come to 257.5 mg, about a quarter of a gram, which is 0.515% of the contents. That is why water and the remainder are drawn as bands and the actives as a rule: 0.515% of a 168 px column is 0.87 px, and the gap left between the two filled bands is those four at their true scale. The rest, 5.7425 g, is everything the plate cannot name from a ppm list. None of this is a shortfall. A peptide dosed at 500 ppm and a humectant dosed at 4,000 ppm are both at their use levels, and the vial is mostly water because an aqueous ampoule is mostly water. Every gram figure rests on one assumption printed on the plate rather than left down here, that the formula weighs about 1 g/mL. That is the standard figure for a water-based ampoule and it is not a measurement, so if the true density is higher or lower, every mass moves with it and only the percentages hold. The bands are fractions of mass, not layers, because the vial holds one clear solution. And the whole plate describes sealed glass: it says nothing about how much of any of it reaches skin.

You already bought the other half.

Shop the Tap Pen