The science · 03 Wrinkle

500 ppm is a dose, not a shortfall.

A technical record of this ampoule: what is in the vial, how each figure is stated, and what has not been measured.

Specifications · formulations · provenance

Units and conventions

Concentration
Stated in ppm and as percent by weight. 10,000 ppm = 1%.
Length
Needle diameter in micrometers (µm). Depth in millimeters (mm). 1 mm = 1,000 µm.
What a concentration is
The amount present in the sealed vial. It is not a statement about how much crosses the barrier.
Mass figures
Where a mass in grams is given it assumes a density of about 1 g/mL. The manufacturer has not published a density, so every mass here is an estimate from volume.

What is in the vial

Acetyl hexapeptide-8
500 ppm = 0.05% by weight. About 889 g/mol
Adenosine
400 ppm = 0.04% by weight. About 267 g/mol
Gardenia florida fruit extract
250.5 ppm = 0.02505% by weight
Copper tripeptide-1
1 ppm as the manufacturer states it. That figure is in dispute, see the note under the peptide table
Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4
0.1 ppm as the manufacturer states it. Same dispute
Anemarrhena asphodeloides root extract
50 ppm = 0.005% by weight
Fragrance
None added
Format
50 mL crimp-sealed medical glass, aluminum crimp, rubber septum, flip-off cap
Origin
Developed and made in South Korea

Why a peptide is dosed low

500 ppm sits four hundred times below the niacinamide in the 01 ampoule. Molecular size is why.

03 WRINKLE PEPTIDE · ACETYL HEXAPEPTIDE-8 500 PPM = 0.05% BY WEIGHT 50 mL ≈ 50 g 50 40 30 20 10 0 mL CRIMP-SEALED MEDICAL GLASSIN THE VIAL · DENSITY ASSUMED ≈ 1 g/mL, SO 50 mL ≈ 50 g Acetyl hexapeptide-8 500 ppm 0.05% ≈ 25 mgAdenosine 400 ppm 0.04% ≈ 20 mgCopper tripeptide-1, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4: trace only, not drawn, no claim. TRACELINEAR AXIS · 210,000 PPM ÷ 500 PPM = 420 Niacinamide, 01 ampoule 210,000 ppm · 21% Acetyl hexapeptide-8, 03 ampoule 500 ppm · 0.05% 1/420 of the bar above. That is the correct length, not a drawing error.MOLECULAR WEIGHT, LINEAR, 0 TO 1000 g/mol Niacinamide 122.1 g/mol 889.0 ÷ 122.1 ≈ 7.3 Acetyl hexapeptide-8 889.0 g/mol 0 250 500 750 1000 Density assumption: about 1 g/mL for an aqueous ampoule, so 50 mL is about 50 g. 0.05% of 50 g = 25 mg. 0.04% = 20 mg. At equal mass a 889.0 g/mol molecule supplies about 7.3 times fewer molecules than a 122.1 g/mol one. Size, not potency. Mass in a sealed vial says nothing about how much reaches skin. 500 ppm is the level this class of ingredient is used at.
Taking an aqueous ampoule at about 1 g/mL, the stated density assumption, 50 mL is treated as about 50 g. Acetyl hexapeptide-8 at 500 ppm is 0.05% by weight, so about 25 mg sits in the vial; adenosine at 400 ppm is 0.04%, about 20 mg. Against the sibling 01 ampoule at 210,000 ppm the gap is 420-fold, and on the linear axis in the middle panel the peptide bar is 1/420 of the vitamin bar, drawn at its true length rather than nudged up to something visible. Molecular weight is plotted because it is part of why the two figures were never comparable: at 889.0 g/mol against 122.1 g/mol the peptide is about 7.3 times heavier, so an equal mass supplies about 7.3 times fewer molecules. That is a statement about size, not about potency, and it accounts for roughly seven of the 420; the rest is simply the level at which each class of ingredient is used. Nothing here says the peptide works, or that 500 ppm is the right or optimal level for it. Copper tripeptide-1 and palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 are present at trace, label-dressing levels, are not drawn at any size, and carry no claim. Mass present in a sealed vial is not a statement about how much of it reaches skin, and nothing in this figure converts one into the other. Molecular weights are published values, not re:tones measurements.

Molecule size against the barrier

Every active in the range plotted against a rough size gate from the permeation literature.

UNDER 500 DALTONS OVER 500 DALTONS 1000 750 500 250 0 MOLECULAR WEIGHT (DALTONS) 122.1 157.2 267.2 402.9 802.1 889.0 500 DALTONS PASSIVE PERMEATION RULE OF THUMB Niacinamide Tranexamic acid Adenosine Copper tripeptide-1 Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 Acetyl hexapeptide-801 · 02 02 01 · 03 03 03 03 01 / 02 / 03 = the ampoule each active appears in. Copper tripeptide-1 is plotted as the copper complex.
Reference figure, citation outstanding. The 500 dalton mark is a rule of thumb from the skin permeation literature, not a re:tones measurement and not a hard physical law. Treat it as a rough size gate rather than a verdict: under 500 Da does not mean a molecule gets through intact skin, and over 500 Da does not mean it never does. What the plot does show is that these six actives are not one population. Four sit under the heuristic and two sit several times above it, and that split is the argument for opening a channel rather than assuming the barrier will let everything through. Values are published molecular weights on a linear axis. Copper tripeptide-1 is plotted as the copper complex, 402.9 Da; the GHK peptide on its own is 340.4 Da.
01

Formulated for an open channel

An ampoule meant to meet skin that has just been opened is a different brief from a serum meant to sit on an intact barrier. It arrives sterile and single integrity, and it is dispensed at the moment of contact rather than applied afterwards.

You cannot open skin and then open a pump.

02

The manufacturer's dataset

The laboratory in South Korea that makes this ampoule keeps an engineering dossier on it. The owner of this shop asked for the whole thing to be published rather than a selected line or two. It is below, in full, at the numbers the laboratory states. Where its own numbers disagree with each other, that is printed too.

Read one thing first. Every figure here was taken in a named test system. A bench rig, a dish of cells, or twelve pieces of real skin kept alive on a bench. None of them was taken on you.

So each figure is printed with its method beside it, never underneath in small type. A laboratory number with no method attached reads like a forecast about your own face, and it is not one. With the method attached it goes back to being what it is, which is a true record of something somebody measured.

The method is not the fine print. The method is the claim.

The plain-language methods note is next, and every table on this page links back to it.

How to read these figures

Manufacturer-stated
The figure comes from the laboratory that makes this ampoule. It is published as given, with the test it came from. re:tones has not repeated it.
In vitro
In glassware. Cells, enzymes or tissue in a dish, outside a body. It shows what a molecule does to a target. It does not show what a product does to a face.
Ex vivo
On living tissue taken out of the body and kept alive for the test. Closer to skin than a dish. Still not a person.
Dermal explant
A small piece of real skin, kept alive in the lab. n=12 dermal explants means twelve such pieces were tested. Twelve is a small number, and it is printed because you should know it is small.
Franz cell diffusion assay
A bench rig. Skin or a membrane is clamped between two chambers. The formula goes on top and the fluid underneath is sampled over time, to see how much crossed and how fast. It is the standard way to compare delivery. The skin in the rig is not attached to anybody.
Gene expression
How much a cell reads a particular gene. A change in gene expression is a change in an instruction. It is measured a long way upstream of anything you could see.
Fibroblast
The cell in the lower layer of skin that builds collagen.
MMP-1
Collagenase. The enzyme that breaks collagen down.
SNARE complex and SNAP-25
The machinery a nerve ending uses to release its signal to a muscle. A peptide that mimics part of it interferes with that release.
n
How many were tested. n=12 dermal explants is twelve pieces of skin. A figure with no n is a figure you cannot weigh.
ppm
Parts per million. 10,000 ppm is 1%. 500 ppm is 0.05%.
Test system not stated
The dossier gives the figure but does not say what it was measured in. Those rows are marked, because an unnamed method is worth less than a named one.
Unresolved
The dossier contradicts itself and we have not settled it yet. Marked rather than tidied away.
What none of this is
None of these figures was measured on somebody using this product at home. None of them is a statement about your skin, and none of them tells you what to expect.

Manufacturer laboratory data, 03 Wrinkle

From the 2026 engineering dossier held by the laboratory in South Korea that makes this ampoule. Manufacturer-stated throughout.

What was measuredResult as statedTest system, sample and date
Acetyl hexapeptide-8 concentration500 ppm, 0.05% by weightCarton specification and composition sheet for the filled vial
How it worksIt mimics SNAP-25 and disrupts the SNARE complex, the machinery a nerve ending uses to signal a muscleManufacturer-stated mechanism of action
Contraction frequencyReduced 82.4%In vitro, n=12 dermal explants
Adenosine concentration400 ppm, 0.04% by weightComposition sheet for the filled vial
Dextrin0.125% by weight, a texture modifierComposition sheet. The tightening you feel as this dries is this ingredient, not the peptide
Water88.7488% by weightComposition sheet

Twelve explants is a small sample and 82.4% is a large number. Both are printed at full size. How to read these figures.

The ternary peptide cascade

Three peptides, and the order the laboratory says they act in. The primer goes first and the copper peptide follows it.

What was measuredResult as statedTest system, sample and date
Copper tripeptide-1 concentration1 ppmComposition sheet, 2026 dossier. This figure is disputed, see the note below
MMP-1 gene expressionDownregulated 61.3%2026 dossier. Test system not stated
TIMP expressionRaised 2.1 times2026 dossier. Test system not stated
Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 concentration0.1 ppmComposition sheet, 2026 dossier. This figure is disputed, see the note below
What the primer doesActivates the TGF-beta and Smad pathway, which leaves fibroblasts in a sensitised state before the copper peptide reaches themManufacturer-stated mechanism of action
Collagen synthesis responseAmplified 312% against the copper peptide on its own2026 dossier. Test system not stated
Tensile strength recovery43.7%In aging skin models. 2026 dossier
Stated ratio1:1:0.1, acetyl hexapeptide-8 to copper tripeptide-1 to palmitoyl pentapeptide-4Manufacturer-stated. This ratio does not reconcile with the concentrations above it, and is unresolved

Two conflicts in the manufacturer's own document, printed rather than tidied. First, the dossier gives copper tripeptide-1 as 1 ppm and palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 as 0.1 ppm, while the percentages printed beside them in the same table, 0.000001% and 0.0000001%, work out to 0.01 ppm and 0.001 ppm. That is a hundredfold apart. Second, acetyl hexapeptide-8 is 500 ppm on the carton, so a 1:1:0.1 ratio cannot describe these three at once. The ppm figures the laboratory states are printed here and its engineer has been asked which set is right. How to read these figures.

The gardenia extract, and the root extract with it

Two botanical extracts, both specified by ratio and by extraction method rather than by name alone.

What was measuredResult as statedTest system, sample and date
Gardenia florida fruit extract0.02505% by weight, 250.5 ppm. Manufacturer sourcing recordComposition sheet and sourcing record, 2026 dossier
Crocetin to geniposide ratio2.7 to 1Manufacturer analysis of the extract, 2026 dossier
How it worksCrocetin blocks NF-kB from moving into the cell nucleus, which is the step that switches on inflammatory signallingManufacturer-stated mechanism of action
IL-6 and TNF-alphaSuppressed 74%2026 dossier. Test system not stated
MMP-1 inhibition61.3%2026 dossier. Test system not stated
Anemarrhena asphodeloides root extract0.005% by weight, 50 ppm. Extracted with supercritical CO2 at 350 barProcess specification, 2026 dossier
Sarsasapogenin in the raw root0.003%Manufacturer-stated
Sarsasapogenin recovery94.2%, against 62.1% for conventional solvent extractionManufacturer process measurement, 2026 dossier
What the laboratory says it doesDownregulates the inflammasome pathwayManufacturer-stated mechanism of action. No test system given, and no figure attached

Gardenia is also why this is the only one of the three that is not colourless. How to read these figures.

The delivery platform, measured on a bench

All three ampoules ride the same seven-stage nano-vector platform. It is the payload half of the system, engineered for a channel the device has already opened. A peptide that stops at the surface is a peptide you paid for and did not use. Manufacturer-stated, 2026 dossier.

What was measuredResult as statedTest system
Payload reaching the dermal-epidermal junction94.7% (±2.1%)Franz cell diffusion assay, fluorescence-tagged actives. In vitro
Time to arrival4.7 minutes (±0.3 minutes)Same Franz cell assay. In vitro
Left on the surfaceUnder 5.3% retained in the stratum corneumSame Franz cell assay. In vitro
Mean particle diameter147.3 nm (±2.1 nm)Dynamic light scattering, 173° backscatter. In-process specification
Polydispersity indexUnder 0.08Dynamic light scattering. Batch acceptance criterion. A batch above 0.08 is rejected
Zeta potential-35.2 mV (±2.8 mV)Electrophoretic measurement. Batch acceptance criterion
Diffusion coefficient4.2 × 10⁻¹¹ m²/s, against 1.1 × 10⁻¹¹ m²/s for a conventional carrier2026 dossier. Test system not stated
Stages in the platformSeven, from water purification through to stability validationManufacturer process description
Extrusion temperature control±0.5°C, held that tight because peptides do not survive heatManufacturer process specification
Stability24 months at room temperature, with no drift in particle size or pHAccelerated aging, 6 months at 40°C and 75% relative humidity

A Franz cell is a bench rig, not a face, and 94.7% is what crossed a membrane in that rig. The device is what opens the channel this platform was engineered for. Neither half is sold as the whole system. How to read these figures.

Evidence grades

Substantiated
Traceable to a manufacturing specification, a supplier ingredient statement, or the physical product.
Manufacturer-stated
A measurement supplied by the laboratory that makes the ampoule, published with the test system it came from. re:tones has not repeated it and does not present it as a result on a customer.
Test system not stated
The dossier gives the figure without saying what it was measured in. Printed as given, and marked.
Unresolved
The manufacturer's document contradicts itself. Printed with the contradiction shown, and referred back to its engineer.
Reference figure
A published literature value used for scale, not a re:tones measurement.
Not published
The manufacturer has not supplied it. Listed rather than estimated.
Not claimed
re:tones has run no consumer panel and no clinical study of its own. Where a percentage appears on this site it belongs to a manufacturer measurement in a named test system. It is not a re:tones result and not a statement about any individual.

Claims ledger, this ampoule

Every figure this page uses and what it rests on.

Claim What it rests on Status
Acetyl hexapeptide-8 500 ppm Manufacturer ingredient statement and the carton Substantiated
Adenosine 400 ppm Manufacturer ingredient statement Substantiated
Molecular weights Published chemical constants Substantiated
Mass in grams per vial Derived from volume assuming about 1 g/mL Estimate, density not published
Contraction frequency down 82.4% Manufacturer in vitro test, n=12 dermal explants Manufacturer-stated, small sample
MMP-1 gene expression down 61.3% and TIMP up 2.1 times Manufacturer 2026 dossier Manufacturer-stated, test system not stated
Collagen synthesis response amplified 312% Manufacturer 2026 dossier, against the copper peptide alone Manufacturer-stated, test system not stated
Tensile strength recovery 43.7% Manufacturer 2026 dossier, in aging skin models Manufacturer-stated
IL-6 and TNF-alpha down 74% Manufacturer 2026 dossier Manufacturer-stated, test system not stated
Copper tripeptide-1 1 ppm and palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 0.1 ppm The manufacturer's ppm figures and its percentages differ by a hundredfold Unresolved, referred to its engineer
1:1:0.1 peptide ratio Cannot describe 500 ppm, 1 ppm and 0.1 ppm at once Unresolved, referred to its engineer
94.7% to the dermal-epidermal junction in 4.7 minutes Manufacturer Franz cell diffusion assay, in vitro Manufacturer-stated, measured on a bench rig
Any effect on your wrinkles or elasticity re:tones has run no consumer panel and no clinical study Not claimed

Every figure on this page names its own basis.

Back to the science index