The science · 02 TXA5
The name carries one active. The vial carries two.
A technical record of this ampoule: what is in the vial, how each figure is stated, and what has not been measured.
Specifications · formulations · provenance
Units and conventions
- Concentration
- Stated in ppm and as percent by weight. 10,000 ppm = 1%.
- Length
- Needle diameter in micrometers (µm). Depth in millimeters (mm). 1 mm = 1,000 µm.
- What a concentration is
- The amount present in the sealed vial. It is not a statement about how much crosses the barrier.
- Mass figures
- Where a mass in grams is given it assumes a density of about 1 g/mL. The manufacturer has not published a density, so every mass here is an estimate from volume.
What is in the vial
- Tranexamic acid
- 50,000 ppm = 5.0005% by weight, the maximum that stays dissolved
- Niacinamide
- 20,000 ppm = 2% by weight
- L-ascorbic acid
- 100 ppm = 0.01% by weight
- Glutathione
- 0.5 ppm = 0.00005% by weight
- Fragrance
- None added
- Format
- 50 mL crimp-sealed medical glass, aluminum crimp, rubber septum, flip-off cap. Filled under low oxygen
- Origin
- Developed and made in South Korea
Two actives, one name
This ampoule is named for tranexamic acid. Niacinamide is present at 2% and is not in the name.
Molecule size against the barrier
Every active in the range plotted against a rough size gate from the permeation literature.
Formulated for an open channel
An ampoule meant to meet skin that has just been opened is a different brief from a serum meant to sit on an intact barrier. It arrives sterile and single integrity, and it is dispensed at the moment of contact rather than applied afterwards.
You cannot open skin and then open a pump.
The manufacturer's dataset
The laboratory in South Korea that makes this ampoule keeps an engineering dossier on it. The owner of this shop asked for the whole thing to be published rather than a selected line or two. It is below, in full, at the numbers the laboratory states.
Read one thing first. Every figure here was taken in a named test system. A bench rig, a dish of cells, an enzyme in a tube, or a piece of skin kept alive outside a body. None of them was taken on you.
So each figure is printed with its method beside it, never underneath in small type. A laboratory number with no method attached reads like a forecast about your own face, and it is not one. With the method attached it goes back to being what it is, which is a true record of something somebody measured.
The method is not the fine print. The method is the claim.
The plain-language methods note is next, and every table on this page links back to it.
How to read these figures
- Manufacturer-stated
- The figure comes from the laboratory that makes this ampoule. It is published as given, with the test it came from. re:tones has not repeated it.
- In vitro
- In glassware. Cells, enzymes or tissue in a dish, outside a body. It shows what a molecule does to a target. It does not show what a product does to a face.
- Ex vivo
- On living tissue taken out of the body and kept alive for the test. A melanocyte study run ex vivo is run on real pigment cells in real tissue, under a UV lamp, on a bench. Closer to skin than a dish. Still not a person.
- Enzymatic assay
- An enzyme in a tube, the compound added, and a measurement of how much the enzyme slows down. The tyrosinase figure below comes from this kind of test.
- Tyrosinase
- The enzyme that starts the chain that makes melanin. Slowing it in a tube is not the same as changing a face.
- Franz cell diffusion assay
- A bench rig. Skin or a membrane is clamped between two chambers. The formula goes on top and the fluid underneath is sampled over time, to see how much crossed and how fast. It is the standard way to compare delivery. The skin in the rig is not attached to anybody.
- Molar ratio
- A ratio counted in molecules rather than in weight. 200:1 means two hundred molecules of one for every molecule of the other.
- n
- How many were tested. A figure with no n is a figure you cannot weigh.
- ppm
- Parts per million. 10,000 ppm is 1%.
- MST, maximum solubility threshold
- The most of something that stays dissolved. Go past it and it comes back out as crystals in the vial.
- Test system not stated
- The dossier gives the figure but does not say what it was measured in. Those rows are marked, because an unnamed method is worth less than a named one.
- What none of this is
- None of these figures was measured on somebody using this product at home. None of them is a statement about your skin, and none of them tells you what to expect.
Manufacturer laboratory data, 02 Brightening
From the 2026 engineering dossier held by the laboratory in South Korea that makes this ampoule. Manufacturer-stated throughout.
5.0005% is a solubility limit, not a statement about how much anybody needs. How to read these figures.
The 200:1 redox couple
L-ascorbic acid at 100 ppm and glutathione at 0.5 ppm, formulated at a 200:1 molar ratio. The pair is in the vial to keep each other working.
Ascorbic acid browns in air, which is why this vial is filled under low oxygen and crimp-sealed rather than pumped. How to read these figures.
The delivery platform, measured on a bench
All three ampoules ride the same seven-stage nano-vector platform. It is the payload half of the system, engineered for a channel the device has already opened. Manufacturer-stated, 2026 dossier.
A Franz cell is a bench rig, not a face, and 94.7% is what crossed a membrane in that rig. The device is what opens the channel this platform was engineered for. Neither half is sold as the whole system. How to read these figures.
Evidence grades
- Substantiated
- Traceable to a manufacturing specification, a supplier ingredient statement, or the physical product.
- Manufacturer-stated
- A measurement supplied by the laboratory that makes the ampoule, published with the test system it came from. re:tones has not repeated it and does not present it as a result on a customer.
- Test system not stated
- The dossier gives the figure without saying what it was measured in. Printed as given, and marked.
- Reference figure
- A published literature value used for scale, not a re:tones measurement.
- Not published
- The manufacturer has not supplied it. Listed rather than estimated.
- Not claimed
- re:tones has run no consumer panel and no clinical study of its own. Where a percentage appears on this site it belongs to a manufacturer measurement in a named test system. It is not a re:tones result and not a statement about any individual.
Claims ledger, this ampoule
Every figure this page uses and what it rests on.
Every figure on this page names its own basis.
Back to the science index